Breakfast of Champions

bowlIt comes in a bowl.

You eat it with a spoon.

It is mostly liquid with little bits floating around in it.

It has a lot vitamins and minerals.

Can you guess what it is?

If you said cereal I ought to slap you!  The correct answer is bone broth.  Before you click the back button, hear me out and I guarantee you’ll change your mind.

Bone broth is a fantastic breakfast (or lunch/dinner for that matter) for a whole slew of reasons:

  • It’s high in protein
  • It’s rich in vitamins and minerals that are easily absorb-able
  • It contains collagen which is good for your joints
  • It helps repair the gut and is gentle on the stomach
  • It’s easy to make and incredibly customizable
 How to make bone broth

Bone broth is incredibly easy to make.  It’s time consuming, but not labor intensive at all.  To make some delicious homemade bone broth you will need:

  • A large cooking pot with a top
  • Something to stir with
  • A knife and cutting board
  • Broth bones (I found mine at Publix)
  • Celery
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Seasonings (Optional, but provides extra health benefits.  I used whole peppercorns, rosemary, thyme, oregano, and parsley)
  • Apple Cider Vinegar (Optional, but helps leech calcium out of the bones to give you an even more nutritious broth)

Cut up the vegetables and chuck them into the pot along with the spices and bones.  Add 4-5 tbsp of ACV and fill the pot with water until it covers everything in the pot.  I prefer to go a half inch higher just to give everything more cooking time.

brothAlmost looks good enough to eat now!

 If you are cooking this in a crock-pot, just turn it on low and check on it the next day.

If you are doing this on the stove, turn it to high until it starts boiling.  Once it starts boiling, turn it on low, cover the pot, and let it simmer for anywhere between 8-12 hours.  After a couple hours of boiling, you can pull the bones out with a pair of tongs and scoop the marrow directly into the water.  This will help with extracting more nutrients out of the bones and marrow as it will allow more surface area.  I was able to easily scrape the marrow out with a knife.

There’s no real science to how long to simmer your broth.  Most sites will say 12-24 hours.  I finished my batch in about 7-8 hours.  I would have left it on longer, but I was leaving the house and was hesitant about leaving the oven range on and not being there to monitor it.

The results of my first batch

As the broth really began to get going, it emitted a fantastic aroma that reminded me of Thanksgiving dinner.  I was seriously salivating and craving turkey and stuffing!  Once my broth was done, I turned the oven range off and let it cool down to a level that would be manageable without the risk of burning myself.  Don’t let it completely cool however or the fat might begin to congeal. Be sure to strain the broth.  You don’t want little floaters of bone, marrow, vegetables, and spices hanging around.

strainerA simple strainer like this works perfectly.

Storing your broth is a matter of preference and how quickly you plan on going through it.  I simply poured my broth into an ice tray and froze it.    Whenever I wanted some, I’d just pop out a cube into a bowl, pour piping hot water over it and give it a good stir.  The taste is fairly bland, so it’s easy to customize it to suit your own personal tastes.

After consuming 1-2 cubes of broth per day for a week I noticed some pretty remarkable results. 

  • The biggest benefit was chronic pain in my ankles had completely disappeared.  I’m flat-footed so this is a issue I regularly deal with, but the pain was gone within a week!  If you’re experiencing any inflammation issues, give this a shot.
  • My digestion seemed to be better as well…let’s not go into the details on this one.
  • My energy levels evened out.  No afternoon slumps.
  • I was losing weight.  Because the broth is low calorie and high in protein and nutrients, it helped me achieve a caloric deficit while still keeping me full.
  • My overall well-being just felt better.  It’s just one of those feelings where everything is right with the world.  No, I’m not saying homemade broth is the silver bullet to everything, but when your digestion is great, your energy levels are great, and you have no nagging aches, you just feel happy and healthy.
MY homemade egg drop soup recipe

I’m going to level with you.  I have absolutely no idea how to make egg drop soup or what all is in it.  I’m just using the name for my recipe because it’s soup… that I drop some eggs in.  This recipe is high in quality protein and fats as well as has great antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties due to the spices and vegetables added.

So without further ado, here’s my Egg Drop Soup recipe:

  1. Grab a bowl and place 1-2 ice cube sized portions of frozen broth.  I usually defrost the cubes a bit in the microwave.
  2. After the cubes are mostly liquid, I add a couple of eggs to the bowl and whip them up real good.
  3. Add turmeric, sea salt, black pepper, green onions, and mushrooms to the bowl.
  4. Grab a cup of piping hot water and pour it over everything.  The hotter the water, the better.  Quickly stir everything up.  The hot water will cook the eggs and stirring everything immediately after adding the water will keep you from having egg chunks from floating around.
  5. Enjoy!  I don’t even bother with a spoon.  I just slurp it from the bowl.  I’m sophisticated like that.

Have you made bone broth?  What’s your favorite recipe for it?  What are your results? 

Leave them in the comments section.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. Man that looks absolutely foul, but I’ve heard from a bunch of sources I respect that its the best thing for you. The anti inflammation sounds interesting though, I’m flat footed too, might have to give it a try man.

  2. Eh, all the stuff floating around are just the spices I added. It gets a bit nasty looking while it cooks but it’s not a real messy process as long as you’re not sloshing the pot around.

    The more vegetables and spices you can add to the cooking process, the healthier the end broth will be. If you give it a shot, let me know your results!

Leave a Reply

